A transparent backround between the image and the text?

Hi there!

I’m a print graphic designer (mainly InDesign/Photoshop user) knowing nothing about the web design. I tried Wordpress (hopeless), then Wix (super easy, but it has it’s limitations), and now Webflow (want to learn it). For several hours I’ve been trying to get the Wix image attached done in Webflow – with no success.

What is the order to get that transparency backround on the image, and the text on that transparent backround? Flex can’t be used ON image, etc. I’ve tried different methods with no success.

These are the features I try to get in the site:

1. A table image propably 1140 px or something (normal width of the site).
  2. Bluish colour continues on the left and on the right side of the image endlessly.
  3. That dark transparent backround on the left side of the image (behind the text).
  4. Text on the transparent backround.

If somebody would tell me what to choose and what is the order in: section, container, column, DIV block, flexbox, text, etc.

Great thank’s for Your help!

Johnny

Here is my site Read-Only: LINK
(how to share your site Read-Only link)

There are many ways to achieve the section you’re showing. To start with, the image could be a background image of a div, or an actual image inside of the div. If you can produce the image at the exact dimensions of the section, you can chose both. For conveniency let’s chose background-image.

You section will be built like this:

http://vincent.polenordstudio.fr/snap/q9mk7.jpg

On the orange div, you’ll define a background color with transparency, to achieve your effect.

1 Like

Basically, in HTML+CSS, you declare (add) a series of element, and you add properties to those elements to decide wether they should be displayed one after another, one close to another, or some on top of others.