Streaming live at 10am (PST)

Advice and feedback please?

Hi...

I came to Webflow as a complete novice, although I've made a few ultra simple websites using the drag and drop editor on Moonfruit. I've now been playing on here for a few days and think I've got to grips with the basics if you guys could give me some feedback?

Also can anyone give me some advice about margins and padding? I understand what the difference is sort-of, but I'm still not 100% about when to use them. Are there any recommended 'rules' about when to use padding and when to use margins and why? And if you could give me answers along the lines of "Web Design for Dummies", that would be great, as I'm not kidding when I say that 90% of this is new to me, but I'm a quick study, so any advice would be much appreciated.

Here's my site so far - https://webflow.com/design/vad?preview=e2a01d2b8377b05838fe14625d757ab1

Margin, paddings, borders, dimensions... all of this is called the box-model in CSS, and you're right it's good to know as much as you can about it. Most of the cross browser issues in the past came from the box model because browser were'nt calculating its size the same way (some oncluded the margins, some not, imagine the mess.... at a time no one were ballsy enough to put both margin and padding values to one element, we would nest 2 divs to achieve both margins and padding and have a site that doesn't break with IE).

So basically, you use padding when you want your background to expand, or the borders to be pushed away. Margins are outside the border and background.

http://www.w3schools.com/css/css_boxmodel.asp

Webflow is pretty rock solid considering the rendering of the box model, you can use and abuse of properties on one box and it will be rendered the same on every browser. (also IE6 died long ago, it was the ennemy of the box model).