After an interaction, redirect the user to a URL based on the current URL

Hi, any of you guys know if it’s possible to have the user click an object and be redirected to a “dynamic URL” based on the current URL of the subpage?

Could be a different domain, could be the same domain with a different path.

I suppose this is not natively available in the designer, but is it possible with custom code?

Since I’m a layman, I imagine this being a solution to having a multilanguage site.
But having read a bunch of posts on the forum on this topic, I think it’s not that easy…

@Tomas_T - certainly possible with JavaScript, but would need to understand exactly what you are trying to accomplish.

1 Like

Thanks for chiming in @sam-g.

Let’s say a user is on a subpage www.domain.com/xyz.

I could have them click a button on the page and redirect them to a dynamic URL such that URL = www.domain.com/de/xyz

or

www.domain.de/xyz

Tell me if I should specify anything else. It’s highly likely I’m missing some other info and don’t even realize it.

@Tomas_T - what would you be using to determine which dynamic url to send them to? Something set by a cookie or something like that? Because otherwise you can just direct them based on which button they are clicking, like any link, but I’m assuming you are looking for something different than that.

1 Like

Well I guess I’d be using the button type (first option). Each button would be a language (German, French,…).
They click a language name (i.e. French) and it takes them to a URL that either ads /fr as a subdirectory to the current URL w/o a language subdirectory, or it exchanges another language subdirectory (like /de) for /fr subdirectory.
Or it simply exchanges the domain extension for .fr

@Tomas_T - I think you have a few options, and again I don’t totally have a clear picture of what your going for.