Streaming live at 10am (PST)

Bug with background video - Flickering on Chrome

I was about to official launch my new portfolio website which i have spent a long time crafting and have noticed a bug with the background videos on the home page! I have 3 sections that use them and all of them have the same flickering issue

They seems to lighten and flicker when the user rolls over them
These blocks have to link into the project, so the entire div collection is contained within a link block

I am a designer not a coder, so a lot has been a learning curve - so close to the finish line!
here is my site, I am hoping to tell my networks about it on Monday

Can you please help me!

Hi @nickvandermolen

It looks like you are using some custom code for those bg videos. I recommend using the prebuilt background video component instead. When using custom code we cannot guarantee it will work as expected.

The site is looking great! :slight_smile:

Hey Brando thank you for getting back to me
It is actually using the background video component (the live site)
and i thought that was the issue so tried to redo with html video player embed
but it was having the exact same problem

It seems to be some conflict within the nesting - when i took them out of the nest they do not seem to flicker

I will try tonight to simplify the nesting and see if it works

Cheers

Have done some testing and there is nothing conflicting with divs nested etc
I have taken the background video out of all containers and put just under the body and the same error occurs - so there is something wrong with the component or my video codecs?
I have rendered all my videos out of after effects as H264 - the run them through Miro Video Converter
to make the mp4
I have also test with mov straight out of after effects - H264 - and they have all had the same outcome

Can you please take a look and see ??