CMS export HEADACHE

Hello guys, i’m new to the CMS thing on webflow…

We purchased a template for a new site that includes a wonderful blog cms thing… Once we export the files it came that CMS and forms cannot be exported… KILL ME!

Is there a way to export it without using webflow hosting?, if not how can i make my cms blog work on webflow?

Si alguien puede responder en español sería perfecto.

THANK YOU ALL!

La respuesta corta es que no puede exportar sitios web CMS desde Webflow. Puede exportar sitios web statics (no CMS), pero no sitios web de CMS, porque los sitios web de CMS utilizan una infraestructura compleja en el server, que no puede replicar en sus propios servidores.

Los sitios web de CMS tienen que estar alojados con Webflow. Así que si desea que su nombre de dominio (.com u otro) funcione con su sitio CMS, tiene que pagar por un alojamiento CMS con Webflow. (a partir de $16 por mes).

1 Like

There seems to be this myth that you can’t host CMS sites yourself and its just not true. All you need to do is to download your published site and put it into your own hosting rather than relying on the Webflow code export functionality.

I’ve almost finished making a video where I show how to do this. You should check it out once I publish it.

1 Like

Wow it’s just what I was thinking, I’m following this Jasondark, thank you.

I don’t think this myth exists at all. What you’re describing is to download the flat copy of a CMS website and publish it as static on any hosting. Hosting a CMS website and being able to update it using the CMS back end is a different thing.

Downloading, or vacuuming a complete site, is never as easy and fast as it seems. It’s really an edge case.

1 Like

Yes you’re right, that’s what I was describing - only hosting which means you’re not going to have access to the Webflow CMS editor. I haven’t personally had issues downloading complete sites, but cases vary of course.

1 Like