Cost/Time Benefit Analysis

Ok, long post… sorry!

I’m interested to know how designers are REALLY using Webflow.

I love this program a lot but I’m having a hard time working it into my existing workflow with developers. I feel like I’m a salesman for the product. I would love to hear a real-world scenario where a designer is working seamlessly with a developer and making this program work to their benefit… and I’m talking more about enterprise-level sites, less about brochure-level sites.

I’m a designer more than a developer and I love the control I have with my layouts using Webflow.

The Webflow homepage says “Forget Photoshop” …I actually use Illustrator for web design, but I get what you’re saying there. Overall, working within Webflow is a lot more cumbersome than using a free flow program like Illustrator. The more I use Webflow, the faster I get and the more I rely on styling to create custom artwork.

Obviously designers are still going to have to fall back on art programs to create more illustrative graphic elements, and then work them into their Webflow projects. We’ll be straddling 2-3+ programs to create a final project.

So, designers, are you designing from scratch in Webflow, or are you creating your sites using the old Photoshop (or Illustrator) comp method and then putting them back together in Webflow? Are you simply creating small graphic elements in these programs and then bringing them into Webflow?

This is where things get messy for me. I still create my comps in Illustrator because of the speed and the reassurance that a design is approved by the client before moving forward with development. Typically, once a design is approved I just hand my files over to be coded up by a professional. This new step of piecing the pages together in Webflow is awesome and gratifying, but it’s another (rather big) step for me to throw into my workflow.