Creating a separate Mobile Site

Hello,

I’m not very experienced in web design, so this may be an obvious question.

I already published a desktop website that is intentionally brutal and definitely not responsive.
Granted it is very painful to navigate on mobile devices and I knew that would be the case.

My initial plan was to make a completely separate mobile version from scratch so that I can recreate a similar retro style to the desktop version. My question is how do I actually go about creating a mobile-specific version of my site on Webflow?

Thanks!

Hey @kid_convalescent, are you actually wanting a completely different website for mobile devices (i.e. different content).

Or are you just wanting to make your already existing website responsive, so it becomes more mobile-friendly?

Hey Oli,

Thanks for trying to help out :slightly_smiling_face:

Because of the way the website is made, it would look gross if it was responsive for mobile. The whole homepage is basically gifs on a grid which you can click to navigate to various pages, and so on mobile, the best I could do is line the gifs fin a column.

I’m happy with how it looks on desktop, but I’m wondering If I can have a completely separate version of my site for mobile devices using the same domain etc, right here on Webflow.

I hope that’s clear enough :upside_down_face:

Thanks!

Hey @kid_convalescent,

Technically, it is possible, yes. You’ll just have to use the CSS property display: none;

For example, if you wanted a testimonial slider on your ‘desktop site’ but not on your ‘mobile site’ then navigate to the mobile breakpoints in the designer and set the slider to display: none;

However, it’s my understanding that this isn’t very good practice for a number of reasons, including page-load times and SEO.

But in terms of ‘is it possible?’, then yes, it is.

I hope this helps! :slight_smile: