Elements between sections

Hello,

I am very new to Webflow and would like to know the best practice to place two objects at the sides of my webpage. I’ve attached a simple mockup image to illustrate further. I am no coder so a simple solution would be best. The two magenta objects should not move during scroll, they should be there almost like a background.

If the screen size changes the pointy end that is directed inward should still hit the section line. How can this be done?

Here is my site Read-Only: LINK
(how to share your site Read-Only link)

Hello @Konst

I will recommend you put this magenta elements in ‘fixed’ position and use vw and vh units to maintain perception.

To understand vw and vh here is this article that can help:

Thanks a lot for the reply. When I set the object to fixed it disappears. I assume the object should be placed inside the section it is suppose to fill (or one of them)

Yes, if you want it to fill one section set the object as absolute instead inside the element you want it to fill.

That was my initial solution, but it does not keep its place when changing to different size resolution monitor which is the main problem with this method. I need it to hit the section line with the point going inward on different resolution sized monitors, it needs to stay put.

Liked the idea of design you posted, so tried a few solutions myself. Tried absolute position on the purple elements between sections, and also to skew-transform the sections with a purple background behind them. However, I found this solution of transparent borders to be nicest, even though it would require a set height on the sections:

https://preview.webflow.com/preview/elements-between-sections?preview=668078581a32deb4ce808f52e0c6c773

Not sure about browser compatibility in IE, but seems to work in Chrome and Safari.

EDIT: Sorry, did not see you wanted the triangles fixed positioned. In my example, simply set them to “fixed” and move up and down appropriately.

1 Like