Giant website needs to be smaller

Hi I have a giant website with a lot of info and it is taking way too long to load, any ideas on how I can make this smaller without loosing quality?

https://preview.webflow.com/preview/aha-4ada6b-d221b6cfbdf0e92a7ab592a80ae1?preview=76b8f25231efc25738f94ebfdf77dec6

@SaraHampt Could you also post the link to the published site?

Of course thank you

http://aha-4ada6b-d221b6cfbdf0e92a7ab592a80ae1.webflow.io/

I think if you do all these states in different pages it wont take that long to load (Im not an expert but thats what I think)

@SaraHampt I’ve run some tests, and I think your site is very slow to load simply due to the sheer amount of content on it. If it’s truly necessary to have all of that content on 1 page I would recommend using a lazy-load plugin. This means that the content will not load until the user scrolls down to that area of the site. As it is now, the page will load everything immediately leading to a long initial load time.

Here is an example plugin you could use: jQuery Lazy - Delayed Content, Image and Background Lazy Loader

If you aren’t comfortable with custom code and would like help implementing this - please send me a direct message and I’d be happy to help!

I’d break the States out into individual pages.

Obviously… it would result in 50 pages if all 50 States were listed…
then additional locations such as Washington DC… Guam… etc.

Or… break it out into Regions. North East… South West… etc.

I’d also recommend adding content for each break out page.

Otherwise… the break out pages are just a list of links (ie: Link Farm).

And Google doesn’t like those.

1 Like

Google doesn’t love one page websites, even more when there is so much info on one single page without a navigation structure or hierarchy to be picked up by the the search engines.

The lack of structure also decreases readability and the UX needs to be improved to generate more engagement.