Streaming live at 10am (PST)

Help I Can't Lock My Sidebar & Navbar in Place

Hi All

First can I just say I'm new to Webflow and absolutely love it. I've mainly designed on basic wordpress & other platform builders and Webflow is amazing in comparison. I have clicked around a lot and changed things that I don't remember so apologies if my site looks like it's held together with duct tape behind the scenes.

I'm having trouble with one page (Startups) - basically I followed the Webflow tutorial for creating a fixed sidebar layout design but I added a navbar at the top and a form in the sidebar. Now the page doesn't behave the way I expected:

When I scroll down the navbar disappears and the sidebar stays where it is, leaving a gap above the sidebar. What I'm hoping to do is lock the sidebar and the navbar in place, so that the only bit that scrolls is the text content section on the right, leaving the navbar visible at all times, and leaving the sidebar and form also visible.

Thank you enormously in advance for any help you can provide, let me know if anything I've said is not clear :slightly_smiling:

H

Here is my public share link: https://preview.webflow.com/preview/harry-palmers-dapper-site?preview=6748c3eb0b88dd021cdebbccec9929c9
(how to access public share link)

Hi,

Ok so on the startup page.

It seems as though you have solved the problem you mentioned above.
However it looks like you have a couple other problems with that page, likely to do with the widths of certain divs, at least in preview mode.

Check out the tablet and mobile views.

Hi @harrymakeywebsite, thanks for your question. I would set the Navigation bar to fixed, with a top anchor.

I made a quick video, I hope this helps:

Hi @Cyberdave - thank you so much for that video it has totally solved my problem! And I've learned about Z indexes which is cool, so many thanks again.