Hosting client's sites

Hey guys,

I’m new to Webflow and starting to transfer clients to the service. Before Webflow I used to advise clients to deal with the hosting provider directly, but with Webflow, if I want to work on the client’s site in the future, it might be wise to keep it on my account. So, I’m trying to figure what’s fare to charge for hosting. Is it enough to just charge the $16 Webflow charges me? Or should I charge more and why? What do you guys do?

Thanks!
R

We charge more. How much is really subjective. A couple reasons why we manage hosting and charge for it…

1. Properly managing a site takes time and time is money.
  2. It’s a good opportunity to stay in contact with a client.
  3. They hired us to do something they’re not good at and if they manage the hosting there’s a good chance they’ll break it and come back complaining.
1 Like

I charge more. I bundle customer support and monthly seo with hosting and charge extra for that.

Teresa

I guess the question comes from the fact that since I built my first WF site (month and a half ago), I didn’t need to do any maintenance… It’s not like with Wordpress where I need to update plugins and run backups frequently. What are the specific tasks you do to maintain a WF site properly? I feel like I’m missing something.

Thanks!