Streaming live at 10am (PST)

How do I get Collections data into Javascript?

I am still learning Webflow and I’m trying to figure out if it can do what I need it to do.

What I want is to have a button on a page and when a user clicks that button, a random item from a Collections appears.

First, I want to avoid page loads at all costs here. This must be instant, so no directing to a different Collections page. This also means that custom Javascript is the only option. I am quite familiar with Javascript, so as long as I can use ‘Embed Code’, this should work fine.

My only hurdle at this point is that I do not know how to get the data from the Collections. My first thought was to google around and I found the CMS API documentation. The issue here is that the CMS API requires keys and appears to be meant for backend to backend integrations rather than user interactions. ( I don’t want to give users keys to insert or delete data from my collections )

An alternative approach could be to have the Collection data be inserted into a tag as a JSON and reference that within the javascript code. I’m completely fine with users being able to view the entire list, I just don’t want them being able to change my data if they rip the api_key from the javascript in their browser.

The rules ask that I provide a link to the closest thing that accomplishes this. This is the closest thing that I could think of: http://www.fantasynamegenerators.com/english_names.php Please note how clicking “Neutral Names” does not refresh the page but is still able to display random results? That is what I am trying to accomplish.

Is this possible? Does anyone know how to do this?