How much to charge?

It’s very frustrating to read responses to questions about pricing because the answers are inevitably that “it depends.” I understand that, but still it would be nice to have some examples of what others have done and what they charged or would charge for a particular website.

I am new to making websites, but have a background as a professional photographer and am reaching out to photography customers who need new websites.

One of my customers is interested in going forward with a project. Their present site is very old and and dated. It’s about six pages–a typical “brochure” static website.

I’m thinking what I would like to charge to do something similar but better would be around $2,500. I’m basing that amount on what I’ve charged them for photography in the past. In fact, this amount is very low compared to what I would charge for a photography assignment that would take so much time.

Anyway, I would be interested in what others would say would be a “$2,500 website.” If you could link to examples of what you think are websites in that price range I would really appreciate it.

Also, I’m trying to think ideas for upselling them to a $5,000 website. They are a fairly large business and employ 100 people and do $11 million in sales, so they can afford it. But they are mainly interested in having a “presence” and will not be doing any direct selling from their site. At any rate, I’m also looking for ideas to do something for them that is more than a typical static “brochure” type of site, if possible.

1 Like

Idea of price from my perspective. How much value are you providing to your client? At the business size you describe above I would add a bit to the price I would charge for the same site for a non profit or a mom and pop.
I recently gave a proposal for $6000. for a site but it was rejected as too high.