How to change SVG colors

Hi,

I was wondering if there is a way to set colors for SVG files uploaded in Webflow.
That would be useful for custom made icons, graphics, product silhouettes, etc.

Thanks

1 Like

You can use ā€œCurrentColorā€ as a colour in your svg code and then use embeds to insert them. Then you will use font color to edit svg colour.

Like so:
Image 2020-03-30 at 1.30.25 PM

5 Likes

Thanks.
Looks a bit tricky thoughā€¦

Why? Iā€™ve been doing this for years without issues.

I mean, I am not a pro webdesigner so at first, that looks tricky.
I will dig into this to see how I can implement it easily.

Thanks

2 Likes

Hi,
Sorry for being silent for a whileā€¦

How do you change the .svg code to put the ā€œCurrentColorā€ property ? I am on mac if its something worth to knowā€¦

You should use embeds anyway, uploading svg and using them as images wonā€™t give you an ability to change colour.

svgā€™s are editable with any text editing app.

Yes, I will use embeds.

I am tried to make the process but sadly my file has too much lines of codes to be supported by Webflow. Need to find a way to reduce the amount of codeā€¦

Ah yes, thatā€™s a bummer. You can try using this service to optimize and slim down your svgā€™s.

1 Like

Thanks !

Iā€™ve managed to go to the embed process. That works fine !
Although my file has way too many characters on the code so I need to find a way to simplify it.

When I embed the .svg file, I have huge blank margins around my logo. Is it coming from my file or the way the embedding works ?

(you can see the logo miss some details as I had to remove some of the code to make it work)

You could use IconJar https://geticonjar.com/

IconJar is a library for your icons/vector things and it allows to drag and drop them to other design app, such as Webflow. And you can also recolor the svg before dragging them, even when they have multiple colors.

1 Like