Can you guys add a pop up prompting us whether we want to duplicate assets or not? In the last Q&A with Vlad, I’ve realized that you keep a copy of delete assets for version management. Which means if I understand right that when I duplicate a project to save time and then delete the old assets to replace them with new ones, the new client can still access them…?
Thanks, @aaronocampo I know about the wishlist. The reason why I posted here is that if my logic is valid then this should be seen as a kind of a bug report rather than some desired feature. This can possibly get a lot of people in trouble (especially designers, like myself) as I had no idea that the images don’t get deleted when I hit “delete” in asset panel.
Yes it seems you can still access deleted static assets on a duplicate of a site. It’s easy to spot them in the assets list when you click Export code.
It’s a problem when you duplicate a production site, or when you use a template and the dummy template assets will never been deleted.
I don’t fully get why it’s important to keep those assets, as when you duplicate a site, the Backup history isn’t preserved. So any unused asset, or CSS-linked asset, could maybe be deleted. (can’t figure any edge case right now)
Thanks @vincent you’re such an asset for this community! I think this should be quickly addressed by the webflow team because designers can unknowingly cause a lot of damage to a client and webflow could easily and up in a nasty law suit. At best it could be embarrassing for the designer at worse it could be millions of dollars in damage, especially now that GDPR is in place. If I didn’t happen to listen to the youtube video I would have had no clue that this is what is happening…