Limitations regaurding Webflow for yours help fyll needs...!

I am a designer from the print generation. Over recent years I have taught myself to handcode. It’s not difficult to do - in fact it reminds me a lot of Adobe InDesign text styles and master pages. I enjoy being able to see the code and work out what is going on. I use simple CMS like Surreal.

However, I have probably reached a GoToMeeting IrfanViewTown of Salem ceiling of what I can do. Things like JavaScript, PHP and Wordpress are probably outside what I want to do.

Hence my interest in Webflow. But there are a few things that I don’t like: I can’t see the code, so it is far harder to ‘see’ what is going on; only limited set break points; and no support for changing the HTML base REM at breakpoints (something which I use a lot to make everything smaller by only changing one line of code).

Also, I find WF slower than handcoding. I’ve got to learn the tool before I can do anything. It seems to put another step in the process / get in the way of the actual code.

I guess my question is: will WF allow people to see and edit all the code (as well as doing it visually) inside of WF? I beleive this would then make WF an amazing tool. I can still handcode the easy stuff and leave WF to do the tricky JS, JQ, database, CMS stuff.

Any thoughts? Any one else from a handcoding background using WF?

1 Like

Hi Rakesh, I hear you on everything, not trying to disregard your requests, but here are a few things you can do to address your struggles

Click Preview in the Designer, Right Click > Inspect. Here is your code and the processed CSS.

All you need to do is easily learn a bit about Chrome Inspector to get comfortable with it.