Limitations with Webflow?

I am a designer from the print generation. Over recent years I have taught myself to handcode. It’s not difficult to do - in fact it reminds me a lot of Adobe InDesign text styles and master pages. I enjoy being able to see the code and work out what is going on. I use simple CMS like Surreal.

However, I have probably reached a ceiling of what I can do. Things like JavaScript, PHP and Wordpress are probably outside what I want to do.

Hence my interest in Webflow. But there are a few things that I don’t like: I can’t see the code, so it is far harder to ‘see’ what is going on; only limited set break points; and no support for changing the HTML base REM at breakpoints (something which I use a lot to make everything smaller by only changing one line of code).

Also, I find WF slower than handcoding. I’ve got to learn the tool before I can do anything. It seems to put another step in the process / get in the way of the actual code.

I guess my question is: will WF allow people to see and edit all the code (as well as doing it visually) inside of WF? I beleive this would then make WF an amazing tool. I can still handcode the easy stuff and leave WF to do the tricky JS, JQ, database, CMS stuff.

Any thoughts? Any one else from a handcoding background using WF?

Hi Mark,

All your concerns are legitimate. However read below for some technical details and workflow ideas. I’d like to paint a brighter picture of the tool :slight_smile:

That’s not entirely true. For starter, what you build in Webflow IS the code. There is no abstraction. A box you create is either a div or another box html5 element.

Apart from some pre configured components like Columns or Slider, what you put is what you get. On top of that, you can analyze the content of such components in the Navigator view, and select and alter their inner elements. They’re meant to be helpers, they’re not magic.