One Page Site - Super Slow Loading

Hey guys,

I’m pretty new to webflow and am working on a simple landing page/pre-launch page.

It’s loading super slow despite reducing the hero image file down to 70kb. I’ve also deleted the text animation to try and solve the issue but its all just very slow.

URL: https://homeschoolinteriors.webflow.io/

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks so much,

Oli

https://preview.webflow.com/preview/homeschoolinteriors?utm_medium=preview_link&utm_source=designer&utm_content=homeschoolinteriors&preview=31b5404904b1b800998336284c053e05&mode=preview

The site loads almost instantly for me. Maybe you’ve got a browser extension that’s conflicting with what you’re seeing? I’ve had it happen to me before as well.

Your site gets great site speed ratings on desktop, however I’m noticing that your mobile suffers quite a bit because you’re using a ~1.4mb background image:

Because background images are called in code (and not supported by Webflow’s automatic responsive image feature) you can actually render completely separate images based on the breakpoint. After taking a peek at your desktop view, it looks like this is the place you’re using the much smaller 70kb image:

I’d recommend either updating the background images called on your smaller breakpoints to something smaller (keep in mind that the two middle breakpoints are calling a separate ~1.2mb image) or utilize the object-fit feature to use a single image for all breakpoints that will take advantage of the previously mentioned responsive image feature.

Hopefully that helps :+1:

Hey Mike,

Thanks so much for taking the time to help me, I very much appreciate it!

You’re right though, my mobile breakpoint image was still pretty weighty so I’ve gone and reduced that to 80kbs as well.

The desktop is loading quicker but does seem to take a split second to load the custom font that I’m using. Could that be because its a web font do you think?