Streaming live at 10am (PST)

RSS / Mailchimp Triggering Issue

Hello,

I’m a bit new to RSS feeds and I have a client who is having an issue they want me to diagnose.

They have there RSS feed integrated with Active Campaign (Similar to Mail Chimp). For whatever reason, they continually go back and make edits on a previously published post. Then, whenever the edit is made and the post is re-published, the RSS feed is triggered and all the recipients on the list receive an unwanted email saying there’s new content, when really it’s just a simple update to an old blog.

Is there anything I can do on the Webflow side in order to help my client combat this issue? Is it as simple as turning off the RSS switch in Webflow prior to publishing a blog that the client does not want to trigger the feed?

Thank you in advance for everyone’s expertise on the issue!

Hi @Spencer_Irwin, there is really not a way to do this in Webflow, as when a post is updated, the rss.xml file is updated with the last published date for the individual post. This is standard behavior for an RSS feed.

I think that probably you will need to check with ActiveCampaign and see if they have some way to check if the same url has been used in a previous rss to email blast. If I understand you correctly, you want to be notified by RSS that an initial article is published, but do not want to be notified of updates to the same article.

When the post is published, the rss feed updates the item in the rss feed with the latest publish date.

Hi @cyberdave!

Thank you so much for your response. That is exactly the case.

I will see if maybe there’s an option inside of Active Campaign for this.