Taking over hosting and creating new website

Hi Webflow Forum,

I am new to the platform and just getting my head around how to redirect an existing old site that was set up by someone else (outside of Webflow) to my new site created here in webflow.

The old site is due to end hosting next month and I need to set a redirect to new site so I retain the google history etc. What steps do i need to take in order to make this happen.

Do i need two create a coming soon page as well?

Activate hostning with Webflow.
Change the DNS settings to point to your Webflow site.
Information on how to Do it is found on the hostning page/setting

1 Like

Thanks for the reply Janne.

Sorry for asking, when you say change the DNS settings, are these the old DNS. Does Webflow create new settings for me to send to the old provider then?

Having watched the video and 301 redirect I wasn’t sure but it looked like it did.

Your domain (used today) do have DNS settings pointing to your site. You need to change the DNS settingss for your domain. Depending on wich provider you have there are for sure some instructions at your domain provider on how to do that,

1 Like

Got it, and do you do the 301 redirects from old site to new site after the DNS settings have been updated?

Thanks for yous assistance.

No. 301 is used to point old urls to the new site if there is a different structure and if you have many urls at google pointing to the old site.

Yes so there will be a different structure… The old site is currently hosted by someone else outside of Webflow. I don’t have anything to do with the old site.

I have set up a new site and I need to divert traffic to it. In this case I need to set up a 301 for the old pages… BUT because im now going to be the host (via Webflow) do i need to update the old DNS settings or do they just become invalid?