Streaming live at 10am (PST)

Template Page deletes itself when deleting a Collection


#1

Oh man. I ended up deleting a CMS collection (on purpose), and what I learned is that its accompanying Template page (blog posts, say) also deletes itself—along with all the design I made for it. Bummer. (Lesson learned on me.)

So, bug? Or Wish List? Not sure.

Weblfow is great. Cheers, all.


#2

did you check your backup? not sure if deleting completely obliterates it but fingers crossed for you.


#3

Hmm.. I’m ashamed to say I didn’t think of that. I wonder if it will screw up the CMS collection changes I made/added since then.

Thanks for the good idea.


#4

lol....it happens.....but yeah..i would assume all changes made after would be loss....from what i have seen the backup works similar to time machine and rolls your site back.

edit: also as far as whether it is a bug...i would assume that is the intended functionality since the template is generated from the collection :confused: so i'm guessing wishlist


#5

Hey @TylerDunlap I'm glad you're enjoying Webflow and sorry that you lost the work you had done. Were you able to retrieve a previous version of your site that was saved prior to deleting the collection?


#6

Yes, the previous CMS data re-emerged (the new entries and collection now gone).

It brings up an interesting point: Being able to unlink the CMS data to the design to reattach it to a different collection. After the collection deletion (again, which I did on purpose), those design elements that were associated with it were thereafter locked, and I couldn’t connect it up to a new CMS collection. It had the padlock, and couldn’t be changed, even though there was no collection connected—so I couldn’t repurpose the design to the new collection. It was an orphan I couldn’t give new parents, so to speak.


#7

This topic was automatically closed 60 days after the last reply. New replies are no longer allowed.