[TUTORIAL] Webflow Ecommerce Coupon workaround

Hi there,

Here’s a new covid-19 tutorial of a nice workaround I’ve been playing around with for quite a while : Gift coupons and Free Delivery coupons for Webflow e-commerce.
I know webflow is currently testing discount codes, and this is very much needed. But if you can’t wait, here’s what you can do (I’ve been using this for a client for 4 months now, and works like a charm)

What you need to know first :
— This method doesn’t allow you to discount rates in the current cart. (you will only be able to do that with webflow’s solution which is currently work in progress)
— This method is a workaround that allows you to offer discounted or free products, and / or free delivery to add to the cart when a user enters a coupon.

Here’s the thing in action : 6-pack
With Coca cola as products and some of the valid coupons being FREECOKE and FREEDEL

How it works :
1 — You create a CMS collection of valid coupon names

2 — You create free products (with price at 0$) or discounted products or a product with a huge weight (like 1 000 000g) to act as free delivery (if you have a shipping method for free for carts over 1 000 000g). You add a reference or multireference field to the product.

3 — You create your CMS page associated to the coupons collection and add inside it a collection list of products associated to it with an add to cart button. Be sure each coupon page shows the product(s) referecing it and with the styles you want.

Capture d’écran 2020-04-14 à 15.15.19

4 — Give the div containing the collection list an id (you will reuse that later)

5 — Go to the page you want the user to enter his coupon code, create an input (if you want to add an input in the checkout you need to add an embed element) and give it an id, create a div that will be used to display what the coupon has to offer

6 — Add some jquery / ajax magic and “voilà” :exploding_head:

<script>