Unable to center image in container

Hello. I am having some issues with centering the image of myself. I am using the Nero template, and I want the image of my self, along with the blue circle, to be centered on mobile portrait. However, none of the changes that I’ve been making seem to work. Any help would be greatly appreciated since I am new to Webflow and web dev in general.

Here is my site Read-Only: https://preview.webflow.com/preview/david-ruvinskiy?utm_medium=preview_link&utm_source=designer&utm_content=david-ruvinskiy&preview=1ba27d14ba00740a213c3bf89e424fbe&mode=preview

Welcome to the community @David_Ruvinskiy!

The reason you’re having trouble with getting this centered is because technically your element is centered—although you’ve added some margin to the left side so the dot graphic doesn’t overlap your profile photo:

Having a larger image may help here to simulate effect from the template (this would allow the dot pattern to overlap on the upper left of your profile image without getting in the way) but you can always remove the left margin on your image and instead adjust the position of the dot pattern instead.

I recorded a quick video to illustrate some changes and give some insight that may be helpful:

Let me know if you run into issues or have any other questions! :+1:

2 Likes

Thank you so much for your help, @mikeyevin. Like I said, I am still really new to web dev, so getting a sense of how the position, margin, etc, effects my layout.

Glad I could help! Also, Webflow just released a great video covering the various position styles that’s definitely worth watching, and if you haven’t done so already, check out the Webflow University for tons more free educational content.

1 Like

Yep, I’ve started watching the videos. Sometimes it’s difficult to apply what I’ve learned specifically to my project. :slight_smile:

Edit: I love the person doing the recordings, btw. The guy is hilarious.

1 Like