Streaming live at 10am (PST)

Webflow Users Who Export HTML: How Many Users Do This, and Why?

Howdy; first post:

I am new to Webflow, and I am still getting my head around the environment – its features, and its limitations. (When I say limitations, I am not implying that is a bad thing; I just like to know what to expect.)

1.) what percentage of Webflow users (or who among you) export a site as HTML, and use that as the final site?

• Yes, I export my sites out of Webflow
  • No, I do not export my sites out of Webflow

0 voters

2.) When exported, how much more work do you need to do to the site? In other words, is the exported site 50 percent ready (needing intense customizations that might not be possible within the Webflow environment), or is it 75 percent ready, or is it 95 to 100 percent ready to go?

3.) What would be the reasons for exporting in the first place? Because of needing extra customizations (as in item #2 above)? Or for other reasons?

I know this question covers a LOT of ground, but thank you for your patience if you try to respond. :slight_smile:

Jeffrey

Well, the main reason to export to HTML is the fact, that many Webflow users host their sites with other providers than Webflow.

Most of my Webflow designed sites are exported. I’m a longtime user of Webflow and I use it for several purposes:

1. graphic and interaction design - the design basis is done on paper, in Photoshop, Sketch, Illustrator and sometimes with the help of Flinto. In Webflow I can make live design and interactions of these designs, exactly the way it should become in the definitive version. Definitive versions are mostly done in CMS systems (WordPress, Drupal, or more complex/proprietary systems) which I don’t handle myself. I can hand over the exported code plus extra documentation.