Website portfolio hosting plan

Hello everyone, I am new to webflow and I am amazed with how easy is for me that I am not a coder to translate my website design into a functional website.

Question in brief: Should I go for Basic or CMS plan?

Back story:
My question is that the portfolio I made for myself is pretty simple but I am confused on what API does. I will insert a an embed video to my website in the future once I update some of my projects, do I need the CMS plan to in order to do that or should I be fine with basic plan?

I don’t use the CMS future because I couldn’t figure out how to make it in the grid that I did on my own.

Website link bellow:

hi @alexsasha ,

If you are not going to use the CMS (Content Management System) is better to go with the Basic plan. The API is for integrations mostly that I believe you won’t be using it.

I would recommend you use the same template for the projects and display them as a CMS content. Is easier to manage like this!

1 Like

Thank you for your reply.

I want to have cms for my projects but I struggle linking them to the grid that I made in my website. When i put my collection list to the grid everything is resized with the same width and height unlike the one that I currently have in the website.

Because you have access to (and are familiar with) the Designer, you can do pretty much everything “manually” without the need of a CMS. Given you are having trouble using the collection list within your design (although with some tweaks I don’t see why you couldn’t get this to work) I’d say you could save the cash and work within the Basic plan.

1 Like

Does API relate anything with embedding videos from youtube etc? Because I have a couple of projects that I need to include videos

Nope, there are a handful of “media” element types that you can use to embed YouTube (or other video) content:

So what is the purpose of API? (I found some information online but I can’t figure out what it is exactly used for)