Will SEO be affected if

Hey guys,

Noob question but something I never thought of before. Taking into account how google indexes sites will my SEO be effected if I put my content in containers?

Currently, my content is set in divs which span 80% width across a section.

And I would appreciate no speculation or guesses as the effects could be disastrous for me :frowning:

I built a website where all the content was in containers (and at some points they are in multiple containers and divs), and both Google and the SEO system seems to be working just fine (I’m not exactly sure about your website though, since I’m not an SEO expert.).

hmmm… what I meant was right now I have great rank for my targeted keywords. But, currently my content is in a div that is set to 80% width. Now take the div and move it into the container will it affect my rank? Cause as I understand it SEO is set based on the tags used and the order they are used in. I might be wrong though, does anyone know?

As long as your H1 tags, text, and meta information remain intact, there would be absolutely no reason your SEO would suffer if you move your copy from an 80% div to a container.

I don’t understand your concern about the DIV’s.

Most search engine remove html and css code from the scrape in order to determine what the site is offering.

The engine will scan for the H tags and other pertinent info.

@Revolution I’m not sure I agree with you on whether search engines remove html and css. From what I understand they base SEO and rank on a couple of things of which html, css are of equal importance as the actual content you have on your site. In addition, they look at your nav system and see how easy it is to use and reach the content you have.

SEO is slowly becoming content marketing. However, my concern is with how my content is structured. Since, the

are set within a

. I’m worried about if I put my content in

if it will affect SEO,